University Airlines Media
Renmin University of China Renmin University of China (RUC, also known as the People's University of China) is a key university in China. The RUC's strengths emphasize the humanities and social sciences, however, the university also embraces disciplines in the area of natural sciences. The RUC is a comprehensive research-orientated university. The RUC was established in 1937, during the resistance war against Japanese aggression. The University acquired its present name on October 3, 1950, which made it the first university to be established by the newly founded People's Republic of China. Well-known educators including Wu Yuzhang, Cheng Fangwu, Yuan Baohua. Huang Da, and Li Wenhai have all served as president of the University. The RUC incumbent president is Professor Ji Baocheng, and Professor Cheng Tianquan is the Chairman of the University Council. Since its establishment, RUC students and teachers have always endeavored to carry out its redoubtable injunction to "unceasingly strive to be always in the vanguard". The RUC shares a common fate with the Party and the nation. Through prudence, dedicated effort, active and practical exploration, the RUC has become an important teaching and research base in the areas of the humanities, social sciences, and management science in China. Owing to its efforts in spreading and popularizing Marxism in China, for its achievements in developing philosophy and the social sciences in China, and on account of its indispensable contributions to the cause of socialist construction and reform, the RUC is regarded as "A Standard in the Humanities and Social Sciences in China?ˉs Higher Education Sector". With undergraduate education as the base and an emphasis on postgraduate education, supplemented by adult education courses and online learning, the RUC has formed a multi-dimensional structure and multilevel system in education and research. The RUC has a Graduate School which is responsible for the administration of postgraduate students, and RUC now comprises twenty-one schools of different disciplines (a Chemistry Department has been established for the near future creation of a School of Natural Sciences). The RUC also has a substantial number of research centers, fourteen transitional centers for post-doctoral fellows, and also a School of Continuing Education, a School of Education and Training, and the Shenzhen Research Institute. The RUC ranks first in three areas among all universities in China: there are six national research bases in fundamental disciplines in the literary arts; thirteen key national research bases in the humanities and social sciences; and twenty-five essential domestic disciplines are taught on campus, which places the RUC first in the social sciences and humanities nationwide. The quality of postgraduate research is witnessed in the sixteen doctoral degree dissertations that have been awarded outstanding prizes in nationwide evaluations of Ph.D dissertations. The RUC is now authorized to offer bachelor's degrees in sixty areas, and double degree in eight areas. The RUC has ninety-nine Masters programs and sixty-six Ph.D. programs. The RUC ranks third among all the universities in China with respect to the number of disciplines. In a recent appraisal conducted by the Ministry of Education, five disciplines at the RUC rank first among all the universities in China. These disciplines are: Theoretical Economics; Applied Economics; Legal Studies; Sociology; and Journalism and Communication. The same appraisal saw the RUC programs in Political Science, Management of Agricultural and Forestry Economics, History, and Business Administration also score very well. These results fully demonstrate the great potential of the strength in teaching and research at Renmin University. Renmin University of China home page:
Please feel free to contact us and enter your suggestion below.

Tsinghua University
Peking University
Zhejiang University
University of Science and Technology of China
Nanjing University
Fudan University
Shanghai Jiao Tong University
Beijing Normal University
Harbin Insititue of Technology
Nan'kai University
Renmin University of China
Tsinghua University
Tsinghua University was established in 1911, originally under the name “Tsinghua Xuetang”. The school was renamed "Tsinghua ...
Peking University
Peking University is a comprehensive and national key university. The campus, known as "Yan Yuan"(the garden of Yan), is situated ...
Zhejiang University
Zhejiang University is a comprehensive national university. Founded in 1897, Zhejiang University was initially known as “Qiushi ...
Copyright © 2011 All Rights Reserved.